California is a no-fault divorce state which basically means that when a spouse if filing for a divorce, he or she doesn't have to specify the reason behind the separation. The differences are not specified anywhere and instead it is only listed as irreconcilable differences. From the time you file for a divorce in California to when it is finalized, the process might take about six months.


When filing for a divorce in California, you should understand that no-fault doesn't mean that there will be no disagreements or arguments throughout the divorce process. There are definitely going to be disagreements when it comes to property distribution, childcare, and many other things. This is why you need professional help to ensure that you get what you deserve.


One of the most crucial things about the California divorce laws at is that they require you to have lived within the state for not less than 6 months. If you live in California while your spouse lives in another state, he or she is most likely to request that the case be heard in the state he or she lives. Always keep this in mind when looking for an attorney since you need an attorney who is familiar with the laws of the state that your case is going to be heard from.


There are two major reasons that are usually cited for divorce in California; irreconcilable differences and incurable insanity. In both cases, the applicant believes that the marriage cannot be saved. With California being a no-fault state, the party filing for the divorce will not be required to disclose more information about the reasons for choosing to divorce. The fact that one party has chosen to file for a divorce is considered enough to grant it. Check out to understand more about divorce.


The court has a procedure that is followed when it comes to handling divorce cases. The person who files for the divorce is known as the petitioner and files papers known as the dissolution of marriage. These papers usually describe that a divorce is necessary. The other party will then be served with the dissolution documents and the court will take 6 months to finalize the divorce. Know What Are the Child Support Laws in California here!



After being served with the papers, the respondent is required to respond to the court within thirty days. In case the respondent doesn't answer, the court will record a default and grant the divorce after the 6-month period. It is always a good idea to get an attorney to help in your divorce case.